Picture Your Boss Nearly-Naked

I need to learn from my mistakes. I need to learn to use what I already know. I need to learn how to create the perfect role and play it.

Rarely do I ever mention my “day job” because that’s simply not part of this conversation, but sometimes it’s worth mentioning. At least in passing. And currently, what needs to pass to it is a sense of practicality and politics that play a part in my arts life.

To break it down, let me say:

Arts life: It’s incredibly important to me to participate in, grow in and develop my artistic abilities. It brings me great joy, and is a part of me that I cannot see ever giving up. Also, I have many healthy, solid working relationships with a wide variety of people.

Day job: I don’t play politics well, I don’t suck up, I often speak my mind even when it’s not the right time. Relationships with coworkers: a bit mixed.

What do they both have in common: I work very hard, very thoroughly and I take it seriously.

But, what I’ve learned over the past few weeks, and come to see very clearly, is that given the right sense of direction from a boss (ie: a director) I can do my job and fulfill its responsibilities (ie: play my part, learn my lines and blocking, flesh out a character) and make for a happy, successful workplace (ie: have a kickin’ production.)

Why has it taken me so long to see this??

The crazy thing is that I’ve often used, and often explained, how I can relate script analysis directly to managing projects and people. Directly. But interpersonal relationships? That crap’s tough. Why have I never equated how I manage my theatre relationships with how I might manage my day-job relationships? I mean, other than the swearing, drinking, flirting and seeing co-workers in their skivvies (theatre, not day-job) without thinking twice about it, it’s all the same, right? This is how I need to approach going in to that office. It’s worked well for me elsewhere—I can make it work there too.

Oh, the joy of learning.

Leave a Reply

