A Meeting

Today I have a meeting. We have a meeting. About…a show. Some new play. I’m a bit apprehensive as I don’t know what to expect. I wasn’t the one who originated it – the meeting, that is. And even though I’m not superstitious (I’m really not) I do have a fear of jinxing things.

Is that the same?

I don’t want to jinx it by talking about it too much. Or, writing, I guess. Especially in a public forum.

This meeting – it might be an opportunity. I guess some would say that everything’s an opportunity if you take it as one, right? I’ve never been so pollyanna about life as to go that far. I’m usually waiting for the other shoe to drop, even while being hopeful and idealistic. Nonetheless, something may come of this and it could be very exciting. It could be something small, it could be something big, it could be just a means to another meeting where something could be small or big.

Or it could present some difficult-to-make choices.

Frankly, I don’t know what it’s going to be at all.

I think I fear I’m going to say something stupid. Or not know how to answer some question, and instead ramble on incoherently in some fog-like thoughts, completely missing the mark.

The latter is much more likely. Happens all too often.

The best I can do is:

  • think before I speak
  • if I don’t know, don’t make it up and instead say some kind of “I’ll have to think about that”
  • listen and watch, don’t talk too much
  • never let them see me sweat

I mean, we’re just getting together to talk about some show. I should just wear raggedy shorts, a dirty t-shirt, sandals and order a beer. Like usual.

Leave a Reply

