Over the Moon at the Fringe

Time went in to a fog there for a few days. This play that I originally imagined over a year ago opened on Friday, and opened well. I’m over-the-moon with excitement about how it’s gone! The pre-Fringe buzz was amazing enough, but our reviews (press, bloggers and audience) and word-of-mouth have been incredibly positive. The cast has received high praise for their performances (all well deserved) and Nancy and I for our storytelling. After a solid house for opening (at about 65% capacity) Saturday’s and Sunday’s shows were nearly full in the huge Southern Theater!

When I’ve directed a show, I love nothing more than sitting near the back of the house and watching the audience watch the play. (Certainly can’t sit near the front. I’ve seen the show – I need to see the experience.) The stillness and intensity with which people watched was amazing. There were moments you could hear a pin drop in the middle of that (nearly 200 person) crowd.

There are now questions about where does this show go from here. A few people have said it should tour schools, others that it should be expanded in to a full length piece, several say to remount it. I’m not sure what the answer is going to be. School tours? Fine, as long as I don’t have to do it or produce it. That’s a whole lot of crazy. Remounting would be great, if it could be affordable and timed right. It would be complicated by my potentially losing at least one actor due to his relocating, and a number of people in the show…well, all of them I guess, have other shows already planned for the fall and winter. In fact, any future life will continue to depend on good actors willing/available to do the show or school bus tour…but those aren’t options truly on the table at the moment. But, as with all popular, successful Fringe pieces, it’s inevitable that the next place in this script’s life be questioned.

As for now, I’m going to enjoy the success.

Leave a Reply

