Holding on to the Outlet

Stressful week at the ol’ day job. Very stressful. There’s just so much going on and so much to do. It’s times like this that if I do not have a current theatre project I get very stressed and unhappy.

Fortunately for me (and perhaps others around me…ok, I’ll say it!) right now I have very exciting work to do when I leave the office. The opportunity to focus on a creative project is extremely important to me, and the benefit couldn’t have been less obvious than yesterday.

By the end of the day I was at the end of my rope with the office and the workload and some co-workers. (There were many screws ups, including my own, requiring me to spend a lot of time fixing things.) My writing partner and I had a production meeting scheduled right at the end of the day, to briefly discuss the state of our current draft, our upcoming reading with the cast and other issues.

As I walked in to the lobby of the theater/bar where we’ve been holding such meetings, I reveled in the smell of the dust and dirt and immediately felt a release. This is the world I’m most comfortable; this is the world I feel most confident.

Or perhaps, it’s just that this is the place I can feel a sense of control.

Who knows.

But what I do know is, that at times like this I feel I’m making the right choices.

The script is in good shape and ready for actors, other production tasks are on schedule, an even the promo video plans are coming together. In fact, as we talked about what locale might be needed for the video, we realized…..we were sitting in it.

Check. Check. And check.

Leave a Reply

